The Pathways of Shakopee History interpretive project is a way-finding sign system to educate residents and visitors on Shakopee and the surrounding region’s rich history of people, events, features, and cultural influence.
As an extension to the existing Memorial Park, the park is on the south side of County Road 101, near the Pond Mission foundation, Faribault Springs, the Faribault Trading Post, and Tiŋta-otoŋwe, a village of 600 Mdewankanton Dakota Indians. It is also the location of a Minnesota-born slave who escaped from here in 1848.
The Pathways of Shakopee History interpretive project will include historic signage along the trail, trail extensions, a cabin replica, Red River cart, a kiosk about Tiŋta-otoŋwe, Prairie des Français, and Prairieville, and an outdoor education area, to celebrate and explain the rich history of the area. The park is connected to a regional trail system and has great pubic exposure within the community. The trail signs will include:
- What Once Was
- Powerful Names
- Rollin’ Down the River
- Betting, Booze, and Beautiful People
- Traveling on the River
- Stagecoaches to Shakopee
- Faribault Springs
- Who Else Was Here?
- The Railroad to Shakopee
- The Ox Cart Trail
Tiŋta-otoŋwe on the Watpá Mnísota (1640-1858)
Six hundred Dakota men, women, and children lived in the village of Tiŋta-otoŋwe, in the place that later became eastern Shakopee. Around 55 tipi tanka were built in the village. Tiŋta-otoŋwe was a summer planting village that provided residents with water for drinking and bathing plant and animals for food, rich soil for gardens, and the river for transportation.
Tiŋta-otoŋwe was Ŝakpe village. The Dakota Indians lived in several pitched roof lodges made of wood and bark.
Prairie des Français on the Rivière Saint-Pierre (1844-1949)
Oliver Faribault and his wife, Wakan Yanke, moved to Prairie des Français (the French Prairie) which was the name that French Canadians called the area where Tiŋta-otoŋwe (and later Shakopee) was located.
The Faribault cabin is a single example of the French Canadian method of log house construction used in the fur trade.
Joseph Godfrey, a slave, worked on the building of the cabin. He escaped in 1848, walking 40 miles along the river to freedom.
Prairieville, Minnesota Territory on St. Peter’s River (1847-1909)
Samuel W. Pond and Cordelia Eggleston Pond moved to their Mission House in 1847. While the Dakota called the area Tiŋtaotoŋwe, Pond called it Prairieville.
Samuel worked on documenting the culture and language of the Dakota, while Cordelia took care of the children and helped the Dakota.
Jane Lamont Titus lived with the Ponds, learned English, and taught school for some of the Dakota Indians.
How can I help?
We are offering companies the opportunity to sponsor this city park improvement effort, with your company name and logo on various trail signs. The park improvement effort is being sponsored by the Shakopee Heritage Society, a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, in partnership with Shakopee Parks and Recreation.
Additionally, we are holding the Second Annual Pathways of Shakopee History Fundraiser and Silent Auction event on Thursday, Sept. 13, 2018. Learn how to buy tickets, donate items for the silent auction, and find out more information.